When I have had the opportunity I have really enjoyed reading friend’s uni essays. Often they are on subjects I know next to nothing about, which is fascinating. They also show a side of the friend I may have never seen before. So, I thought I would share some of my uni essays – and hope some of you might do the same.

International Studies
Is neoliberal economic globalisation the solution to world poverty? (‘Global Politics’, 1st year) – a short essay from first year.

The Right to Self-Determination (‘Democracy, Terrorism, and Violence’, 3rd year) – looks at whether all nations (people groups) have a right to become independent states.

Literature
Charles Dickens on Childhood (‘Concepts of Childhood’, 2nd year) – it wasn’t a subject on Dickens, nor even on literature, but they gave us the option of writing our own essay question and I took all the liberty they would give me. This is a longer essay.

Jesus’ Parables (‘Backgrounds to English Literature’, 3rd year) – this is one of the essays I most enjoyed researching and writing. It’s basically an intro into the parable genre as used by Jesus.

Anthropology
Ethnographic Observation Exercise (‘Anthropology: Studying Human Diversity’, 1st year) – another short first year assignment. I wrote about my church’s youth group and gender and sport among adolescents.

History
Was the State of Israel a continuation of the Zionist movement? (‘A History of Israel’, 2nd year) – considers the ways Zionism changed over time before and after the creation of the State of Israel.

Education
Streaming (‘Integrating the Curriculum: Middle Years’, 4th year) – I thought it was great that my high school put us in classes based on our grades, but a lot of teachers I knew were really opposed to it. So I took this opportunity to look at some of the reasons for and against this kind of ability grouping.

How are socio-political changes reflected in the senior English curriculum between 1970 and 1993? (Research Project, 5th year) – Between 1970 and 1993 the senior English curriculum underwent a series of significant reforms. This paper considers how these were shaped by socio-political changes in Victoria. Sixty-one pages plus the same again in appendices. Gold star to anyone who gets through it all.

